1. The Cut

Cut is the most misunderstood and understimated "C" of the five "C's". Cut is properly referred to as the "make" or quality of the way the diamond has been crafter. "Cut" should never confused with the "shape" of the diamond.

The cut of the diamond is only the "C" that is entirely manipulated by the diamond cutter, and will determine the beauty and value of the diamond.

3. Clarity

Almost every diamond will contain some blemishes, and inclusions formed during the course of its crystalization.

The diamonds clarity grade refers to the visual impact of these characteristics or lack thereof, as viewed under 10x loupe magnification.

There is a grading structure (GIA clarity grading scale) used to describe inclusions found within the diamond.

5. Certification

It is crucial when choosing a diamond to review the diamond certificate, referred to by diamond grading.

2. Carats

Diamonds are always measured in carat weight.

One carat is the equivalent of 1/5 of a gram. Additionnaly, there are "100" points in a carat, so that a 0.50 "point" diamond would be described as an half-carat.

4. Color

The color of a diamond refers to the presence or absence of inherent coloration in a white diamond.

The whiter the diamond is, the greater its value since a colorless diamond will allow increased light to pass through it and will consequently emit a greater amount of fire and brilliance.